EWI 5000 settings

Please post here topics concerning use of windcontrollers with our instruments
DaveRoberts

EWI 5000 settings

Post by DaveRoberts » Sat Oct 28, 2017 9:18 pm

I mostly use the TEC BC2 with the SM instruments and am greatly impressed with its expressive capabilities. As a pianist, I also love that it frees my left hand for accompaniment.

But I occasionally play the EWI 5000 wind controller, which I'm also new to. Can anyone recommend or share the settings they use with SM instruments?

MSchnell

Re: EWI 5000 settings

Post by MSchnell » Sun Oct 29, 2017 7:00 am

Hi Dave

Some weeks ago I send you a recommendation about settings for the SWAM instruments when using the BBCv2.

How did you get along ?

I too am a (would be) pianist and I too do have a Wind Controller (a old Yamaha WX7), but I found that there is close to no point in practicing the wind controller fingering for me.

Why do you want to use a Wind controller ?

-Michael
Last edited by MSchnell on Tue Oct 31, 2017 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Music examples -> http://www.boa-sorte.de

DaveRoberts

Post by DaveRoberts » Tue Oct 31, 2017 6:23 pm

Thanks, Michael, for the TEC breath controller settings. They helped me set my own preferences, which currently are volume and vibrato depth for the nod, and growl and breath sounds for the tilt.

You're right that a wind controller is much more limiting and difficult to learn and play than a breath controller. But there's a certain coolness factor in playing a wind instrument, particularly in a jazz gig.

The TEC BBC2, while definitely giggable, is a bit geeky looking with the hula hoop-like thing around the head, the pacifier in the mouth and the nodding and the tilting. Plus you've got the added gear of a keyboard (I'm currently using a Vortex keytar) for the right hand in addition to the piano for the left.